July 17


District 22 Board Gets New Officers

The newly elected members of Community District Education Council 22 (CEC 22) convened at the District Office, located at 5619 Flatlands Avenue, on Tuesday evening, July 11th for their monthly meeting, which was streamed live to the community via Zoom.

The board voted to elect interim officers, who will serve from July to October, at which time another vote will take place to determine permanent positions. Tracy Jordan and Arthur Kleynerman, who served on the board previously, were elected President and Treasurer, respectively. Natasha Wachman, Nadine Friedman, Sarrah-Jean Exilas, Christine Eddi, Anna Brener, Tamara Telfort, Zheng Hao Ma and Vanessa Cannistraci will all be serving on the board for the first time. Superintendent Julia Bove spoke afterward to congratulate the new board and offered her full support and dedication to the group.
A member of the community spoke as well, asking that in addition to the “land acknowledgement” the group reads at the start of each meeting, members also acknowledge appreciation and awareness days pertinent to the educational community. She said that July is “Twice Exceptional (2e) Students Month,” a time in which students who are considered intellectually gifted and face learning or developmental challenges are recognized and honored.
The next meeting of CEC 22 will be held on Tuesday, August 1st at 6:30 p.m. in the same hybrid format, so that members of the community may participate in person or virtually at their own discretion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}